News Flash

News - Large Image

Posted on: April 7, 2021

May 1 Local Elections


The City of Garland held a General Election for two-year terms for Mayor and Districts 3, 6, 7, and 8 and a Special Election for the final year of an unfinished term in District 1 on Saturday, May 1, 2021. The Garland City Council will host a special meeting at 7 p.m., Tuesday May 11 to certify the election results and swear-in those who were elected and re-elected:

Mayor - Scott LeMay
City Council District 1 - Jeff Bass
City Council District 6 - Robert Vera
City Council District 7 - Dylan Hedrick
City Council District 8 - Robert John Smith

In District 3, no candidate received more than half of the votes cast, which will result in a runoff election between the two candidates receiving the largest number of votes:

Ed Moore - 48.20%
PC Mathew - 23.14%

The runoff election is set for Saturday, June 5, with early voting available from Monday, May 24 through Tuesday, June 1.

Visit the Dallas County elections website for additional election results and information about the runoff election. Learn more.

Facebook Twitter Email